HTB - Academy

HTB - Academy

·

3 min read

I will use this Article to publish all completed courses on HTB which are available to me on the lower-tier subscription I'm on. I won't post any answers from the courses, however more of a review/takeaways of each. This will be an ongoing 'journal' style article.

File Transfers:

(18/01/2023) This module was fantastic. I learned a lot about all types of file transfers between different operating systems, using different tools, through different services as well as some pointers to avoid detection. This is probably the first module that has taught me something in every single panel, very good and I will probably go back and redo it so I can get these techniques down.

Operating System Fundamentals:

(18/01/2023) Being a little more versed with Microsoft environments this one was a little easier and less to learn. However, it was certainly a good refresher with PowerShell commands and how to integrate MS systems with Linux machines. Another fun part was a little detour I took looking for an RDP tool to use with Parrot. I tried a few and that was certainly worth it.

Introduction to Networking:

(08/01/2023) This is a basic networking course, at least it starts that way. Very simple to understand networking fundamentals. By the end of the course, there are some more in-depth looks at MAC addressing, IPv6 and tunneling that I certainly found interesting. It was a good refresher course.

Setting Up:

(02/01/22) Great course with basics on setting up your Parrot OS (or kali distribution). It goes over installation, tools, and the first things to do after deployment. Touches on best practice procedures for your system once you're up and running. Inspired me to reinstall my version Kali VM. Great little course.

Linux Fundamentals:

(29/12/22) Fantastic module and well worth the time. Everything was very basic for anyone proficient in Linux however as I am still learning the ins and outs, this course certainly goes through some solid foundations. Starting with Linux History, moving into usage, structure and basics - I found this to be a fun course (also has some neat exercises to work through, some not so straightforward - for me at least)

Learning Process:

(29/12/22) This module was a look at how our minds work and it felt like a call to action, or perhaps more like 'permission' to fail/question/try things differently. It started a little dry, however, after all the information (including neurological behaviors, routings, suggested processes and outlooks) I came out of it feeling very positive. I did learn from things - if nothing else, I now have a Goals list that I will look at in a year.

Introduction to Academy:

(28/12/22) Pretty straightforward reading, outlining how HTB Academy works, the structure of the presented courses, and how the cube system works (which is the HTB currency to unlock courses, these can be purchased independently from your subscription) - Overall the course does what it says, provides a nice welcoming introduction to the site and gets you excited to dive in.